WednesDIY bisquick baking mix

Recently, I began a new job that requires quite a bit more work than my last job. The past couple of days have left no time for checking my email, let alone do a quick browse of Pinterest, my own little afternoon mood booster. It’s been nonstop work at the new office, which is fine, actually, as the Internet void has brought me back to the lost art of daydreaming.
Daydreaming, I most certainly thought, is for children. Perhaps more honestly, though, I thought I had forgotten how to daydream. As any Anne of Green Gables fan knows, without “scope for the imagination,” many opportunities for daydreaming are lost amid the day to day shuffle and struggle.
Strange, then, to find myself daydreaming while staring at a computer screen entering patient demographics.
I flashed back to the year I was home-schooled as a kindergartener. My mom had made me these awesome alphabet books out of colorful construction paper and magazines and old greeting cards. She was so thrifty and fun. Remembering kindergarten is all vivid colors and elf workbooks and time with my mom.
Another daydream, however, takes me to the future. I am running a small business with my sisters. I sell cute sew-ables and jewelry and maybe baked goods online. My youngest sister has graciously decided to be my personal assistant (yay!), while my other sister is the motivation and drive behind the business…as well as the graphic designer for the website.
While daydreaming is not particularly productive, its purpose happens to be greater than productivity. Each time I caught myself in sunlit reverie, I was smiling. These were and are my happy thoughts.
And so what about DIY Bisquick? Making baking mix for a kitchen that thrives on easy substitutions and quick weeknight cooking is thrifty, just like my mom. And DIY baking mix is just the start of this chronicled journey to finding my true dreams, like owning a from-scratch business with my sisters.
I used this recipe when I made the Copycat Red Lobster Cheddar Bay biscuits.

Homemade Bisquick Mix

Ingredients

6 c. all-purpose flour, sifted
3 Tbs. baking powder
1 Tbs. salt
1 Tbs. sugar
1/2 c. cold butter

Directions

1. Measure the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt into a large bowl. Use a wire whisk to blend.
2. Cut in cold butter using a pastry cutter, fork, or fingers until thoroughly incorporated. Mix can stay refrigerated in an airtight container for four months.

Leave a Reply

