Easy Sunday Dinner: Spicy Fish Stew & Garlic Biscuits

J was on the computer last night, finishing up an application, so me whining about blogging would not have been very attractive or helpful. BUT I did some pretty fantastic things, so I’m not going to let the opportunity pass by.

J and I share a car. It’s his car; I left mine for my family’s use when I moved here at the beginning of the year. Sharing a car is not easy, but J is patient and never really complains about it. Among the many difficulties, we each have to pick each other up from work, since we work completely opposite hours. This means that right about the time when I would want to actually be in the kitchen, preparing a warm dinner, I’m in the car, mumbling curses to slow drivers.

Cooking, then, requires a bit more premeditation. And, in the spirit of Easy Sundays, the Crock-pot is perfect for this need.

I gave myself a couple hours head start, figuring when we returned home, at least half of dinner would be ready.

Spicy Fish Stew

Spicy Fish Stew

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Official Website
 
Ingredients
 
1 1/2 pounds fresh or thawed frozen, skinless cod or halibut fillets, cut into 2-inch chunks (I actually used haddock)
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 small yellow onion, diced
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
2 c. corn (I used frozen)
1 can (14.5 oz) garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
2 c. chicken stock 
1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp. oregano, dried or fresh
couple tablespoons EVOO

Directions

1. Heat EVOO in a medium pot. Add garlic and onion, stirring to coat, cooking until onions turn a light caramel color.
2. Meanwhile, put all other ingredients in slow cooker. Add onions and garlic when ready. Set cooker on high for 3 and 1/2 to 4 hours.
 
Note: I get it if you don’t want to put fish in a stew without cooking it first. I was iffy on putting raw fish in the Crock pot, but I did it anyway, and it worked! Also, this recipe is originally made on the stove, but I adapted it so that anyone could make it in a slow cooker. Aren’t you glad?

 

When we got home, I had a plan in place. Check Crock-pot to make sure the stew wasn’t a gross mess. Done. Start making awesome biscuits. You got it.

Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits

A copycat recipe adapted from copycatrecipeguide.com

Ingredients
 
2 ½ c. baking mix (I made my own!)
4 Tbs. cold butter
3/4 c. cold milk (I used 1%)
1 c. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
½ tsp. garlic powder
2 Tbs. melted butter
½ tsp. Italian seasoning
 
Directions
 
biscuits step by step
 
1. Preheat oven to 400° F
2. Using a pastry cutter or fork, cut cold butter into baking mix in large bowl, until mixture is crumbly. Make a hole in center of mixture with wooden spoon.
3. Pour milk into hole in baking mixture. Stir in cheese and garlic powder using wooden spoon or hands. Don’t overwork dough, but flour should be fully incorporated.
4. Drop large spoonfuls of dough (about 1/4 c. portions) onto greased baking sheet, allowing at least an inch between each biscuit.
5. Bake 15-17 minutes, when the peaks of the biscuit turn a wonderful golden brown.
6. Meanwhile, melt butter and Italian seasoning together. Brush over each biscuit.
 
Note: These biscuits are addicting. J warned me not to tell anyone that I knew how to make them. He’s only looking out for my (his) best interest.
 
 
One thought on “Easy Sunday Dinner: Spicy Fish Stew & Garlic Biscuits

  1. Pingback: WednesDIY bisquick baking mix « Red Rover

Leave a Reply

