Sunday morning

Sunday morning arrived dark and stormy, our region unusually being within the reaches of Hurricane Irene. Even more reason, I thought to myself as I stretched and wriggled my toes awake, for Sunday morning French toast.

Sunday morning, you see, is the only morning I will take breakfast requests. I don’t mind making breakfast other days of the week, of course, but only dishes I want to prepare. Sundays I must just feel especially benevolent, or my family and boyfriend just feel especially lazy, so I agree to make whatever they fancy.

Truth be told, it’s usually one of three options. No one ever asks for my scrambled eggs or for some blueberry muffins. Those would be somewhat healthy choices. No, no, couldn’t have that.

I know on Sunday morning, I will be cutting up fruit for a thick, hearty apple pancake batter, whipping half a dozen egg whites for light, airy waffles, or making some super-easy and delicious French toast.

French toast was the order for the day because the stars had aligned for some spectacular bread in the Parisian fashion. First, I had entire loaf of Pepperidge Farms brown sugar bread. This bread is thick and delicious and perfectly square. Second, I had just enough french vanilla creamer left over to use in place of the milk. C’est parfait!

I cracked open my trusty Better Homes and Gardens cookbook I went out and bought immediately when I found I would be moving out of my parent’s house. Gotta have the basics.

I halved the recipe since I would only be making enough for my lazy sweetie pie and me. Seriously, warm breakfast with the promise of sweet cinnamon syrup is the ONLY way to get him up!

French Toast

Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book Special Edition

Ingredients

2 beaten eggs

¼ c. milk

¼ c. flavored coffee creamer

1 tsp. vanilla

½ tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. ground nutmeg

4-5 slices thick, sweet bread

2 Tbs. butter

real maple syrup

 1.     Beat eggs well. Add milk, creamer, vanilla, and spices and continue beating. Pour into shallow bowl or pie plate. Dip bread slices into egg mixture, 30 seconds to coat each side.

2.     In a skillet or on a griddle, melt about a tablespoon of butter over medium heat. Add as many bread slices as will comfortably fit onto cooking surface and cook for 1 to 2 minutes on each side, until golden brown. Repeat with remaining butter and bread slices. (Hint: you can always add a touch of creamer, milk, or spices to finish up the bread.) Serve warm and with a couple teaspoons of real maple syrup.


Leave a Reply

