Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies

In order to receive cookies from the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, I had to do my part and send some out. I had the hardest time deciding on a cookie. While I seemingly viewed hundreds on Pinterest, I knew I had to decide on a tough cookie that could withstand some jumping and jostling in the mail. I decided on these lovelies.

Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies

Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies

Pinterest did help me find these cookies, in the form of the Shine Project blog. The original recipe can be found here, thanks to the Shine Project’s guest blogger, Hanna, from Bouffe e Bambini.

My version is as follows, doubled from the original recipe I followed.

Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies
Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies 4
Ingredients
3 c. all-purpose flour
2 c. all-purpose whole wheat flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 c. unsalted butter, room temperature
1 c. unsweetened applesauce
2 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. peppermint extract
5-6 Tbs. milk
1 Tbs. red gel food coloring
powdered sugar
white non-pareils or other type of sprinkles
1 c. crushed peppermint
1 c. melted white baking chocolate
Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies 2

Part of the process

Directions
1. Sift together flours, salt, and baking powder; set aside.
2. Next, cream the butter, applesauce, and sugar together in stand mixer or large bowl. Add eggs, extracts, and milk, beating until smooth. While still beating wet ingredients, gently add flour mixture. Beat until fully combined. Scrape down sides of bowl and pat the dough down a little to make it easier to divide in half.
3. Place one half of dough in another *greased* bowl. Add food coloring and mix until color is bright and even. Wrap each color of dough in plastic wrap, patting into a small rectangular patty. Refrigerate for thirty minutes.
4. Use wax paper to roll each half of the dough into large rectangles, 1/4-inch thick. The dough will be sticky; use powdered sugar to help the process.
5. Using an intense amount of patience and equally intense amount of flour and powdered sugar (to combat the stickiness of the dough), slide the red dough rectangle evenly onto the white dough. (I ended up flipping my red dough over onto the white dough, which worked better than sliding.) Trim edges. Roll both doughs together, using the long side of the rectangle, creating a swirled cookie dough log. (Again, be patient with the tearing/sticking of the dough. Most of it is repairable.) Cut log in half.
6. Using a shallow dish or pan, pour in a layer of sprinkles or non-pareils. Roll each log firmly over sprinkles several times until the majority of each log is covered. Wrap them both tightly in plastic wrap; refrigerate for two hours.
7. When ready, slice dough logs into 1/2-inch slices. Bake on parchment-lined sheet in a preheated 375°F oven for 10-12 minutes. 
8. While cookies are baking, slowly melt white baking chocolate in small saucepan or microwave. Stir constantly. (I used a little canola oil to make the morsels melt a little easier.) Pour crushed peppermint into shallow dish or pan.
9. When cookies have cooled, dip halfway into melted white chocolate and immediately roll in crushed peppermint. Set on cooling rack.
Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies 3

Baked goodies

Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies 5

Overall, these cookies were several times more difficult than I thought they were going to be. Aside from the issues I had with stickiness, I also did not roll the doughs out evenly; as you can see from above, the red is winning! I almost couldn’t call it a swirl cookie! Thirdly, I actually added all the sugar I was supposed to, but I was a little disappointed with the sweetness that resulted. Hence, the white chocolate and crushed peppermint. I wanted the cookies to earn their sugar cookie title.

I sent a dozen of each to Heather of Levavi Spatulas, Monique of Food Snob 2.0, and Kelli of The Corner Kitchen. Hope they made it okay!

Finally, I had a lot of fun. I was surprised by all the packaging options I didn’t think of. I will be more imaginative next time. I cannot wait to do this again next year!

If you are interested in being involved next year, sign up for the mailing list at the Love and Olive Oil blog right here.

4 thoughts on “Peppermint Swirl Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: York Peppermint Patties « Ownchef

  2. Pingback: Cookie Swap Round-Up | Levavi Spatulas

Leave a Reply

